Japan’s Fukuda quits.

Yasuo Fukuda has just resigned as Prime Minister yesterday, citing his unpopularity and his failure to get the Opposition, which controls the Upper House, to cooperate with his policies as reasons. This is not at all unexpected, but just like Abe’s abrupt resignation last year, the timing is surprsing as it came only a day after the government announced a multi-million dollar economic stimulus package.

“When taking into consideration that the people must come first, we must not create a political vacuum by horse-trading,” Fukuda said. “On this occassion, we must promote policies under a new line-up– that is my conculsion and I have decided today to step down.”

He then hit, for the last time, the Opposition, whom he tried last year to invite to form a coalition government: “As long as some Opposition parties continue to prevent me from doing my job, I think I would just cause confusion.”

The opposition Democratic Party of Japan (DPJ) has been very vigorous in its blockade of key government policies as the dominant party in the Upper House. But Fukuda’s party has always been at fault, too, for ignoring the Opposition’s valid points most of the time.

I can’t really blog about this major development at length today because I have class. But I sense that the LDP is gearing up for parliamentary elections, which is why the party has to get rid of the unpopular Fukuda.

It is certain that the LDP would elect a popular leader who will lead them to the polls. Yes, Taro Aso will now, finally, get his chance to occupy the Kantei, which probably means goodbye to the Fukuda Doctrine and hello once again to conservatism. Or maybe it’s goodbye to LDP and hello to Ozawa?

3 thoughts on “Japan’s Fukuda quits.”

  1. I thought your criticism has hitted the point. As you said, for many of us, his resignation was not so surprise.

    Now five members of LDP standed as a candidate, and I want Ms. Koike or Mister. Ishihara to win the election, not Mister. Aso, Mister. Yosano.

    Aso didn’t expect that so many members stand as his rival, and it is difficult for him to win the election than expected. Koike and Ishihara’s policies are really similar, and I really feel that their ideas are very necessary for revival of Japanese economy.But, many Japanese expect that after the expiration of next prime minister’s term of office, the Democratic Party would take office.

    By the way, how are you recently? I hope you are really ok…I’m looking forward to read your next report!!Please always take care!!

  2. The fact that there are many anti-Aso candidates, I think, helps Mr. Aso. Because they will split the anti-Aso vote.

    I think Aso will win this elections. He enjoys the support of Abe’s conservative group, Yoshiro Mori and majority of the factions, and half of the local prefectural chapters.

    And I also think the LDP will pick him simply because he is very popular and he could prevent Ozawa’s DPJ from winning a snap elections.

    How’s everything there? I’m fine. Manila is hot and humid, as always.

Leave a Reply

